Ontario English Catholic Teachers

Communications Awards

OECTA's local units are a talented lot. This is continually reflected in the winning submissions of our Communications Awards. The awards program celebrates achievement among local units for their communication projects, websites and publications. Winners are honoured each year at the June Council of Presidents meeting. 

How to Enter

  1. Entries must have been created between the AGM of the previous year (2016) and the AGM of the current year (2017). The judges, who are the members of OECTA’s Communications and Public Relations Committee, will make the final decision about an entry’s category.
  2. Review the list of nine categories carefully and select the category that most closely fits your entry. The same project, or parts of a project, may be submitted in different categories.
  3. Complete a separate form for each entry. Photocopy additional entry forms as needed.
  4. Attach the completed form to each entry and mail to: Communication Awards, OECTA, 65 St. Clair Ave. East, Toronto, ON M4T 2Y8, or email
  5. Entries are to arrive at Provincial Office no later than April 1, 2017.

Share your successes from your new website, or public relations activities, to articles and photographs published in your unit newsletter. Local units are eligible to enter submissions, by 5:00 p.m. April 1 in any of the nine different categories.  All entries must have been created between the AGM 2016 and AGM 2017.

The 2015-16 Award Recipients

Category Winning Unit Unit President


Simcoe Muskoka Elementary, Secondary,
and Occasional

Joe Martone, Michele MacDonald
and Carlo Palermo


Dufferin-Peel Elementary
D-Peeler, Volume 24, Issue 2

Single Element/photograph – Marlies Day

Rose Procopio

Heather Manassis


Catholic Connections

Dufferin-Peel Elementary
Who I am” - poem
Rose Procopio

Most Improved

Dufferin-Peel Elementary


Rose Procopio

Christine Stockie