Ontario English Catholic Teachers

Marion Tyrrell Memorial Award of Merit

Marion Tyrrell (1896-1982) was active in creating OECTA, she became its second general secretary (the first to fill the role when it became a full-time position), and oversaw its rapid expansion. She promoted Catholic education and the collective bargaining interests of members.

The Marion Tyrrell Memorial Award of Merit honours an OECTA member who made an outstanding contribution to education in Catholic schools or to the Association. Eligible for the award is a member who contributed to the good of teachers across the province. Nominations may also extend to members who have distinguished themselves through community service. Nominees must be approved by the provincial executive.

Applications are no longer being accepted for nominations at the 2023 OECTA AGM.