Ontario English Catholic Teachers

Pearse Shannon Memorial Association Service Award

Pearse Shannon (1945-2006) was a tireless crusader for teachers for over 30 years, at the school, unit, provincial and national levels. As OECTA’s OTF Table Officer and later OTF President, he was particularly instrumental in strengthening the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan.

The Pearse Shannon Memorial Association Award honours an OECTA current or past president or occasional teacher bargaining unit president, who has made an outstanding contribution to the Association. The provincial executive must approve nominees.

Applications are no longer being accepted for nominations at the 2023 OECTA AGM.