

News Release

March 10, 2025

NEWLY ELECTED 2025-27 OECTA PROVINCIAL EXECUTIVE

TORONTO – René Jansen in de Wal has been re-elected President of the Ontario English Catholic Teachers' Association (OECTA) at OECTA's Annual General Meeting in Toronto. René will begin his two-year term on July 1, 2025.

René has been a member of OECTA's Provincial Executive since 2017 and currently serves as President of the Association. A high school teacher and member of OECTA's Toronto Secondary Unit, René has been teaching for more than 30 years.

Joining President Jansen in de Wal, OECTA's newly elected Provincial Executive members are:

Past President Barb Dobrowolski, Eastern Ontario

First Vice-President Lisa Lacaria, Superior North

Vice-President of Equity Sharon Giroux, St. Clair Elementary Second Vice-President Anthony Rocchio, Sudbury Elementary

Third Vice-President Julie Altomare-Di Nunzio, Toronto Elementary

Treasurer Michel Derikx, Hamilton-Wentworth

Councillors Melissa Garrett, Waterloo

Erin Van Moorsel, Bruce-Grey Elementary

OTF Table Officer Chris Cowley, Brant Haldimand Norfolk

Additionally, the following five members were elected to the positions of Governor with the Ontario Teachers' Federation (OTF):

Rick Belisle, Nipissing Secondary Chris Cowley, Brant Haldimand Norfolk Jason Haraschuk, Dufferin-Peel Secondary Paul Kiely, Hamilton-Wentworth Andrew Robertson, Dufferin-Peel Secondary

-30-

OECTA represents the 45,000 passionate and qualified teachers in Ontario's publicly funded English Catholic schools, from Kindergarten to Grade 12.