Ontario English Catholic Teachers

How We Are Governed

OECTA is a representative democracy.

Our activities are guided by our members, who are represented by more than 700 voting delegates at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) in March. Delegates elect officers, pass resolutions, and can amend the Constitution that governs our Association.

The Constitution, by-laws, policies, and procedures that set the framework for the Association's activities are contained in the Association Handbook.

Our Provincial Executive members meet every month to administer the affairs of the Association, in accordance with the Constitution and directives passed at AGM.

Also, our Council of Presidents, which includes 88 elected presidents of local bargaining units, meets three times per year to advise and direct the Provincial Executive, and to approve the budget.

Each local unit has its own elected executive and by-laws, and provides a local point of access for members to engage with the Association.

Other elected officers include five members who sit on the Ontario Teachers' Federation (OTF) Board of Governors - the governing body of the province’s four teacher organizations.

As OTF Governors, the 10 Catholic teacher representatives - including five Provincial Executive members - together with representatives from l’Association des enseignantes et des enseignants franco-ontariens (AEFO), the Elementary Teachers’ Federation of Ontario (ETFO), and the Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation (OSSTF), vote on policy matters affecting all teachers. OTF Governors serve a two-year term.